Tale from the work shop Shh?!


part-of-spring

The other day I had to nip out to get some materials. A bit of an under statement as it involved a journey of a hundred miles each way. As we were going up the by pass at the beginning of the trip there was a metallic clanging sound  of something hitting the under side of the truck which slowed progress as I considered whether or not to stop and check. Needless to say I didn’t  as the van felt and ran OK.

Ninety odd miles later . We stopped at a well known supermarket for a break. To be met by a shoshing noise. A quick look round the truck did not show anything untoward but the shh persisted; then I noticed that the rear near side tyre looked soft. In that short time it was half flat, the air was coming out that fast. I can’t believe it – another puncture! and its 

spring-in-tyre

the new one! I will not repeat what was said but I think you can guess!  

I ran round to the cab pulled out the jacking kit and got it in place just before it went completely  flat. Ten minutes later the Tyre was changed.

Before we returned home I wanted the puncture repaired, so tracked down a tyre shop and took it in. “No prob’ mate have that done for you in a jiffy”. Then things went sideways I saw him call over a colleague and then me. It took us all by surprise. I was told that I had been extremely lucky that it had not blown apart when it happened. The pictures speak for them selves!

.

Leave a Reply

