Hate it or love it?


banksy

Banksy book war and piece a good read. well sort of!

To be honest I have not really been that interested in graffiti until the Tate modern had that extraordinary exhibition on the outside of the building. At well over a hundred feet high you couldn’t really miss them. Before that, like most people, I was blind to it to a certain extent as I walked the streets of towns and cities across the country. What I did notice after viewing these wonderful drawings is the proliferation of tagging which in my view is a blight on the built up environment. If you are going to do it make it interesting otherwise save the paint.

The other day I had my arm gently twisted to purchase a copy of Wall and Piece by Banksy

I think this is one of Banksy on the streets of London

I think this is one of Banksy on a street in London.

forcing my interest in graffiti to another level. His book is more a picture book than a read. One of the things I picked up from the photo’s in the book apart from his sense of humour, is that we still walk around with our eyes wide shut even though picture-taking is at epidemic proportions. On a subsequent visit to another book shop I checked out the art section to see if there were any other books on graffiti and there are a few. Leafing through some of them they also depict some wonderful public art. I know! a lot of people think it degrades the neighbourhood, but done well I think it lifts it, maybe it is time to make spaces where it is legal for anybody to post.

This is a small part of mural that stretches for about quater of a mile in Lincoln. It brightens a building that is a bit of a blot on the landscape.

This is a small part of mural that stretches for about quarter of a mile in Lincoln. It brightens a building that is a bit of a blot on the landscape.

Leave a Reply

