Unexpected Visitor


 

The owl was very hungrey.so we gave it some chicken cat food. The brown stain on her front is the grave from the food.. She is sitting on my shoulder for this feast.

The owl was very hungrey.so we gave it some chicken cat food. The brown stain on her front is the grave from the food.. She is sitting on my shoulder for this feast.

It had been a wet damp day and with it getting dark at about four I had decided to shut the workshop early as we were up to date with work and had no bookings for people to drop or collect.

 
It came as a shock to find an owl sitting on the fence looking at me as I came out of the door. He/she just sat there, then opened his wings and took off heading towards me I ducked and as I did he landed on my back Wow! I moved back to upright slowly and as I did he walked up my back until he was on my shoulder.
 
Jac was standing beside me when this happened she could not believe what she had just witnessed not only that but the owl allowed her to stroke him, while she was doing this she managed to get the number of the ring he was wearing and the web address, to cut a long story short we ended up at www.ring.ac which tracks ringed birds across the country. We emailed them and waited for an answer.
 
 But what now? I moved my hand up to stroke the owl and as I did, it gently pecked at my hand so we decided to find it something to eat. It had started to rain so I moved back in to the workshop with the owl still on my shoulder and waited for Jac to come back with some food.
 
Once he got the hang of it he tucked into a bit of  real chicken pieces cat food. When he had decided he had had enough he flew off my shoulder on to a ladder that was standing at the back of the workshop, he looked quite happy so we put a bowl of water down locked the workshop and waited for some info.
 
The following day some info started to come in. It turns out he travelled from Thetford, Suffolk. Quite a way! He was spotted a couple of weeks earlier by another local in the area.
At around about midday Weirfeild wildlife Hospital  in Lincoln  ( www.weirfield.co.uk ) came to pick the owl up. We were informed he had been let back into the wild from captivity but had not gone back to complete wildness.
It was a great experience and a shame to see him go. You never know he may return when they let him loose again.
 
 
5 thoughts on “Unexpected Visitor

  1. You put together a superb position with what you stated. People ought to read your post to allow them to obtain a greater viewpoint on this topic. It was awesome of you to offer good facts and supporting reasons. After reading this, I know my thoughts are pretty clear on the topic. Keep up the fantastic job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

